Beautiful Blogger

So I got an award. And not only was it given to me by someone who I respect beyond measure, but it was an award that was really flattering and totally humbles me.

It was the Beautiful Blogger Award and it was given to me by Holly Kench (from Confessions of a Stuffed Olive). Holly is a  clearly a stuffed olive. But she’s also a fearless feminist and wicked bad-ass all in one, so to get this from her is like trumpets and spotlights for me. Thank you! 

Guidelines

  • Thank your award-giver with a link to their blog and of course, a thank you.
  • Share 7 things about yourself.
  • Give the award to 7 other beauties.
  • Claim the badge and slap it on your gorgeous blog, you wonderful people, you.

Right so, part of the guidelines* is for me to share 7 thing with you  about myself. I imagine it should be 7 things that aren’t widely known, so this is kinda hard since I’m not terribly secretive (after all I blog).

Let’s see:

1. Almost all of my top ten favorite anime movies are directed/written/produced by Hayao Miyazaki. That man’s got talent and has an eye for the same.

2. I re-read Laurell K. Hamilton’s Guilty Pleasures almost every year. It changed what I thought about female protagonists and fantasy in general. It also sharpened my eye for sexism and unequal opportunities, too, oddly enough.

3. I like jalapeño poppers more than anyone should. I eat them at least once a week and if I can get away with it, I do it more often than that.

4.  I’m obsessed with Sally Hansen’s Salon Effects nail art strips. I switch every week. This week is tribal.

5. I can’t swim. My mom put me in lessons when I was around 8. One day after swallowing multiple gulps of water, snorting fire from inhaling so much water and being unable see after my instructor  said I could open my eyes under water, I walked up to my mom and said, “I’m not doing this anymore.” She said OK and that was the end of it.

6. I’ve been to 5 different countries and lived in Germany for 3 years. Yes, I’m an army brat. But that made me one big bag of weird and I wouldn’t have it any other way. ;)

7. My memory is terrible. I mean, I will forget what you were talking about mid sentence. I will walk from one room to the next and forget why I got up. Somehow, I survive school and work. It is a miracle.

Now, for the second part of the guidelines and the most important part: sharing 7 other wonderful, no, beautiful bloggers with you! And they are beautiful. Have no doubt!

1. Sarah Wesson of Earful of Cider. With an eclectic mix of the honest ruminations of a mom, a librarian, writer and blogger, Sarah throws in reflective blog posts on poetry weekly. She writes stellar reviews and never writes anything without a thoughtfulness that you can feel in each post.

2. Sarah Pearson of Empty White Pages. She may not be as active now as she once was, but that doesn’t change how beautiful she and her blog are. When in full swing, it’s a place where music and literature come together in a most unique combination that is wonderful to behold.

3.  E.P. Beautmont. I personally don’t know E.P. very well. And I can admit, I hardly ever have a visible presence on his blog, but the writing that he showcases on his blog is more than worth this award. The care and skill with which he crafts his writing is admirable. He puts more work into a paragraph than I do into a chapter and I’m awed by everything I read.

4. Angela Quarles. There’s been less action on her blog of late due to a First Draft class she’s picked up (and conquered), but Angela’s site/blog is always a good place to find interesting writing discoveries and tips, as well as flashes of her own wonderful writing. She’s a beautiful spirit and that comes through her blog quite clearly.

5. Zee Monodee. Zee’s blogspot is chockfull of great writing, honest personal reflections and a good kick in the writer’s pants if necessary. She’s very supportive of the writing community and I think that’s very beautiful.

6. Anthony Angeline of The Unfolding Myth. I named Tony for my Lucky 7 meme as well, but where he really belongs is here. He’s thoughtful, talented and willing to explore interesting ideas just because they interest him. What I mean is, he’s like a a modern day philosopher (trust me on this; taking a great thinkers course). He takes a thread of thought and unravels it for examination. And it’s a wonderful unraveling to read. (He also just happens to be a member of the Super Reviewers teams, which just adds to the awesome.)

7. Jessa Russo of My Writing Blog. There so much enthusiasm and positivity in Jessa’s every post. Of course, she’s recently got some very good news about publication with Curistoy Quills, so it’s bursting at the seams at this point, but even before then, between her wonderful flash-fiction, there’s a hopefulness and support for writing and the writing community that’s fairly infectious. (Also, another superhero from the Super Reviewers, but can’t you just see why?)

Thank you again to Holly and make sure to check out these 7 beautiful people. They’re great company to keep.

*Guidelines differ as far as the Beautiful Blogger Award is concerned, but we’ll stick with these guidelines as they are what I received.

14 thoughts on “Beautiful Blogger

    1. J.M. Blackman says:

      You’re so welcome. I’m glad you enjoyed the seven things. And I’ve done that before, too! So glad to hear I’m not alone in the haze. ;)

    1. J.M. Blackman says:

      You’re welcome! And I mean every word. Your blog’s excellent. You and it deserve it. And thank you! I’m not totally sold on the theme, but you likin’ it helps! :)

    1. J.M. Blackman says:

      It’s all true, Tony. You’re welcome. Spread your beautiful thoughts far and wide. And I’ll try and help. <3

    1. J.M. Blackman says:

      You’re welcome, E.P. You deserved the award. You put a lot into your work. Can’t imagine what you do with revisions! ;)

      1. What I do with revisions: wailing, gnashing of teeth, the usual biblical sound effects. :)

        And then: cut, cut, rearrange, cut some more. My writerly vices are thoroughly nineteenth-century: longeurs and excessively ornate prose.

        1. J.M. Blackman says:

          Oh, I feel a bit better as that’s exactly what I’m going through right now. Particularly the gnashing of teeth and wailing. A bit of hair pulling. A lot of rearranging and cutting. Grr. I like your vices much more than mine, though! XD

  1. I love that you love the Sally Hanson nail art strips!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m completely obsessed with nail art myself, though I can never justify buying the strips, since I have my own uv lamp and do my own shellac. I’m addicted. Right now my nails are neon pink with black butterflies on three fingers. :D

    1. J.M. Blackman says:

      Oo, I will never forgive you if you don’t take a picture of your nails and tweet them to me. XD That is so awesome. You do your own shellac? You really ARE a hero, Holly. <3 Ahh!

      1. Oh you HAVE to forgive me because they are getting to the end of their days and desperately need to be redone. I promise you a pic when they are next fresh and awesome. Haha.

Leave a Reply

