Run from Angela Vickers: a feminist interpretation of a #MusicMonday

Alright, skipping past another review of a few songs off of Silversun Pickups’ Neck of the Woods (which I’m totally getting back to next week), we’re going to look at a Kimbra song for this Music Monday. I featured her on my old blog, solo and with Gotye for a Music Monday (“Somebody That I Used to Know” being how I discovered Kimbra). And today we’re looking “Settle Down.”

At first, I just thought it was a catchy song with crazy vocal range and a lovely diversity to the song itself–it changes tempo and mood alternatively. But then I really started listening to the lyrics. And this could be a reflection of the Gender & Sexuality class I’m taking, but Kimbra is doing one of two things here (or both, actually):

  1. Critiquing the societal clockwork that tells women to hurry up and get married, have kids and take care of their husband for f@#$’s sake; added to that is the desperation to fulfill this requirement and to keep said husband latched to her  side and away from the Angela Vickers of the world. Insert an eye roll here. (Though, this fits really well with my and a co-reviewer’s look at a Little Fiction piece called “A Few Loose Ends.”) Supporting lyrics: “Stars so light and stars so bright/keep him by my side.”
  2. Or, she’s actually saying that she does want to settle down and raise a child (named Nebraska Jones), which she professes in a constant litany of, “I want to settle down.”

Either way, I still love the song and I’m telling you, if you can make it to 2:05, you’ll see why. Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Run from Angela Vickers: a feminist interpretation of a #MusicMonday

    1. J.M. Blackman says:

      Isn’t it beautiful? She can just do so much with it. And yeah, you’re right about 2:27. I love that part!

Leave a Reply

