The Tale of a #JunoWriMo Fail

As the title suggests, I failed #JunoWriMo (a 30 day writing adventure that inspires 50k in a month, or 1667 words per day of original work, hosted by Becca J. Campbell and A.E. Howard) on my first go. And I’m not beating myself senseless over it, but I do feel like I let myself down. I started late, so that set me back, but I don’t think that had the biggest impact on my writing.

It was the set of revision notes I received. That’s where all of my attention and time went. I couldn’t keep away from them, wouldn’t.

And I did finish those, but as a result, JunoWriMo went out the window. Hard. But I still have some accomplishments to boast about:

  • Before JunoWriMo I was stuck on this WIP. Chipping away 100 words here, 100 words there. I bounded leaps ahead with the help of the supportive JuNoWriMo coordinators and participants. The community is amazing. I proved that I could knock out decent word counts if I would just insert butt in chair and place hands on keyboard. It gave me confidence.
  • I figured out where the book is going. I was a little aimless at first, not only on the direction of the book, but the mood and my intentions for the characters, etc. All of this was clarified while hacking it out with the JuNoWriMo crew.
  • Though, my revisions were my original work, they were not a part of my JuNoWriMo project, so  I couldn’t count those words BUT I silently word-sprinted with the gang to finish my goals and I even had an 8k day. I’ve never done that before.

So I clocked out at 18,166 words. But like the spreadsheet said on the JuNoWriMo Website: I’ve got to keep going. And I will. I will finish this book before the end of summer and beginning of school. I know that I can. And I owe that to my participation and yes, failure of JuNoWriMo.

6 thoughts on “The Tale of a #JunoWriMo Fail

  1. There are no losers at Camp NaNoWriMo. You are a Valiant Striver! And much more valiant than I am. I don’t even try Camp NaNo. Three cheers from me to you!

    1. J.M. Blackman says:

      Thank you, Kate. I really appreciate it. You sound like a NaNo general, so I’m surprised you don’t participate. :) I did make some strives, so I shall wear my knighted name proudly. Valiant Striver!

  2. daezarkian says:

    I’m glad you managed to take something positive out of it. That’s not always easy when you miss a target goal.

    On the other end of the spectrum, during one Nanowrimo I easily made the word count but never finished the novel…in fact, I *hated* what I’d written. In retrospect, I’d trade that for what you gained (figuring out where your book is going) any day! ;D (And congrats on that 8K day — that’s awesome!)

    1. J.M. Blackman says:

      Wow, Steven, thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful comment. You’re right–it wasn’t easy to take it positively. Especially when I know I’m capable. I’m sorry you didn’t like what you wrote when you went out for it, but I certainly don’t doubt your word count. You’re a monster–in a good way, of course. :) Thank you again for commenting and for the congrats. I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

