Getting Somewhere (#SFFSAT)

Yay, Saturday! I am more than likely blissfully unconscious at this moment as it is the Saturday of the first week of school. Which means I’m sleeping in. A lot. Grossly sleeping in. :)

Awesomely, it also means it’s time for #SFFSAT. A little background:

Welcome to Science Fiction Fantasy Saturday. On the surface, it’s a web ring of authors who post snippets of their work for comment. In reality, it’s a close-knit group of friends and colleagues working together to support and encourage one another and promote the science fiction and fantasy genres.

– JC Cassels, 2012

Restrictions

  1. Absolutely no erotica or explicit content. This ring is for all ages to read. This is the founding reason for this ring, and any diversions will be removed from the final list on Saturday.
  2. Length of snippets:
    • Prose: 4 – 10 sentences.
    • Poetry: 4 – 10 lines.
  3. Any and all comments on the authors’ work are welcome, but please take care to keep them constructive.

And now on to the snippet. Last week Jack the detective found out that Adelyn the android was in possession of a video of the killer the whole the time. Now, of course, he wants to know how.

“How did you get the images and the evidence of Bahun’s murder?”

“I’m linked up to his house security systems, and once I found him dead, I retrieved the data and reviewed it.”

Jack nodded. “Do you know why someone would want to hurt Bahun?”

“I believe he was killed because of his work.”

“Which was?”

“Determining what is human. I think the problem was that he theorizes that there isn’t much difference between me and you. People have never agreed with my findings, our findings.”

Next week: more about Adelyn and her findings. :) But there’s still great spec fic to check out, so go straight to the source and enjoy.

***

To catch up on my snippets, past “installments”: Human Snippet IHuman Snippet IIHuman Snippet IIIHuman Snipet IVHuman Snippet VHuman Snippet VIHuman Snippet VIIHuman Snippet VIII, Human Snippet IX.

12 thoughts on “Getting Somewhere (#SFFSAT)

    1. Thank you, Patrick. That’s why I thought this idea was so neat: the quest for humanity from an android’s view. Appreciate your comment and looking forward to seeing what else you think.

  1. Well, this is cool! My first time seeing anything #SFFSAT related… and a wonderful excuse to pop by and see what you’re working on. I’m way behind on the times, but I like what you’ve got here.

  2. This reminds me of the Star Trek Next Gen episode where Data is put on “trial” to determine whether he classes as a lifeform. It’s an challenging question, and it’ll be interesting to see how your story deals with it.

    1. Wow, I love that you thought of that. I loved that trial and Data. (I also loved Seven of Nine and drew from her.) So I’m glad this is interesting in that way, because I play with that question throughout this wip. Thanks, Misa!

Leave a Reply

