The Uncomfortable Department (#SFFSAT)

Apparently, my new thing is skipping a week of #SFFSAT. :( I have got to just set reminders for myself. Anyway, welcome to Saturday Fiction Fantasy Saturday. Some guidelines, a little welcome:

Welcome to Science Fiction Fantasy Saturday. On the surface, it’s a web ring of authors who post snippets of their work for comment. In reality, it’s a close-knit group of friends and colleagues working together to support and encourage one another and promote the science fiction and fantasy genres.

– JC Cassels, 2012

Restrictions

  1. Absolutely no erotica or explicit content. This ring is for all ages to read. This is the founding reason for this ring, and any diversions will be removed from the final list on Saturday.
  2. Length of snippets:
    • Prose: 4 – 10 sentences.
    • Poetry: 4 – 10 lines.
  3. Any and all comments on the authors’ work are welcome, but please take care to keep them constructive.

I’ve been sharing snippets from a wip called Human: a tale about a detective who meets an android. And can’t get her out of his head, which leads to trouble, of course.

The last time I shared, Jack (the detective) had gone to visit Adelyn (the android) at her home. She began to strip. Turns out she has a terrible wound and doesn’t consider tending to it in front of him an odd thing. But that in itself is an odd thing, don’t you think? Continuing:

In one way, the expression on her face terrified a very human part of Jack, but in another way it drew him in. “Can you feel it? What happened?” Perhaps her eyes were a question best saved for later.

“It doesn’t hurt anymore,” she answered, taking a thin utensil and pressing it along the edges of the wound. A small hissing noise filled the room. “Remember how I told you attempts had been made on my life as well? This is one such attack. Being stabbed is not unfamiliar, though, it never lessens in the uncomfortable department, and to answer your question, no, I didn’t notice any connections or patterns, but then, I never looked for them, either.” She set the utensil down and closed the bandage over the wound, beginning to button her shirt.

OK, so, the eyes still haven’t been explained. I might jump ahead to that next week. Thanks for stopping by and check out all the other great #SFFSAT snippets by going straight to the source.

* * *

Past “Installments”: Human Snippet I, Human Snippet II, Human Snippet III, Human Snipet IV, Human Snippet V, Human Snippet VI, Human Snippet VII, Human Snippet VIII, Human Snippet IX, Human Snippet X, Human XI, Human XII, Human XIII.

8 thoughts on “The Uncomfortable Department (#SFFSAT)

  1. I can tell this is one I’m not going to be happy having doled out in little snippets like this. You suck me in and ten sentences later, I’m ready to pull my hair out. It’s evil, I tell you!!

  2. nrgalloway24 says:

    I love the tone you’ve created. Tension on every page, isn’t that what sells novels? I’m fascinated by the relationship between these two characters and cannot wait to see how it develops in the future. Thanks for sharing!

    Keep writing and I’ll keep reading.

Leave a Reply

