Second Time’s the Charm: Next Big Thing

The last time I was tagged in the Next Big Thing blog hop/challenge, it was by the wonderful Kate Warren. This time I’m just as flattered and touched to be tagged (with a very complimentary description, I may add) by Sarah W. at Earful of Cider. Hop on over to learn all about her three fantastic works, which I’ve read and loved two of.

On to the official business–requirements of the challenge:

  • Follow this format.
  • Answer the 10 questions below.
  • Spread the fun and tag 5 more awesome people to participate.
  • It’s also nice to link back to the person. Sharing is caring, y’all.

1. What is the title of your book / WIP?

Human. Which I imagine exists in the world that is beautifully, amazingly portrayed in the video below. No, seriously. This video rocks. My fantasy.

2. Where did the idea of this book come from?

I was unsuccessfully shopping several short stories and I wanted to write something different, but that would appeal to SF magazines. I was watching a lot of police procedurals (or wanna-be police procedurals), so I knew what I was going to write was going to be about a detective. Androids seems few and far between and I’d always thought they were cool, so I had two elements. I’d also never written from a man’s point of view, so I tried that on, too.

I let a friend read it, and he told me it was much more than a short story, so I kept writing.

3. What genre would your book fall under?

SF thriller/ wanna-be procedural.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? 

Jack: Benjamin Bratt

Adelyn (the android): Zoe Saldana

Rome (his best friend): Eric Bana or Ryan Gosling

Fiona (his captain): Patricia Clarkson

5. Will your book be self-published or represented?

More than likely represented, but we’ll see, won’t we? :)

6. How long did it take you to write it?

About a year, I think.

7. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

See “where the idea came from.” Same shib.

8. What other books in your genre would you compare it to?

None, really. I can’t think of anything it’s really similar to, oddly enough. Anyone chime in.

9. One sentence synopsis:

For a guy who doesn’t like androids, Jack sure is spending a lot of time with one–Adelyn X–and this one happens to be a murder suspect, but when the rabbit hole goes deeper than he even thought it could, he can’t pull back from the spiraling mystery.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

There’s a scene where an android performs in a high-priced strip club? And there are a lot of badly written puns.

Now, the really fun part: the new folks who are tagged and why.

Your turn!

1. Ashley Heckman–because she says she feels like she has nothing to say, but I’ve loved every thing I’ve read from her so far, whether on her Twitter or blog. And I’m ready for more.

2. Lane Heymont–you’ve seen him around here a few times, but I always feel like he’s going something interesting up his sleeve. He’s got a historical novel coming out soon

3. Anna Meade–Faerie Queen, bride to be, singing geek (those two are mutually exclusive) and prone to fancies of whimsy, Anna is a wonderful spirit. With a wonderful talent for writing. 

4. Lisa Hollar–creator of the ever-enjoyable 55 Word Challenge, flash-fiction and horror queen. She’s not a knack for words and I want to know what she’s been doing with them lately.

5. Anastasia Vitsky–not only do her Six Sunday snippets keep me coming back for more (because they are hot), but she’s also caring (coming over to check on me Sunday despite my forgetting to sign up).

OK, go! I want to hear more!

8 thoughts on “Second Time’s the Charm: Next Big Thing

  1. Eric Bana,please! Benjamin Bratt is interesting—i don’t know why, but I always remember him in his younger roles, when he was shiny and new.

    As for read-alikes, I think Human would sit next to Philip K. Dick’s “Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep,” not only for the obvious, but because the world-building is amazing.

    (Holy COW–that VIDEO!)

    1. Eric Bana it is. I didn’t really pay much attention to Benjamin Bratt till he got a beard and started greying. :) I love “Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep.” It’s only shelf right now. But I’d never compare anything I did, so that’s…awesome. Nerd moment. (And, right?! It’s a dream. A true dream. I love to watch it.)

Leave a Reply

