Sealed With a Curse Review + Giveaway

sealed_24

Comment to win a copy chances end Friday January 11, 2012 @ Midnight.

When I read Cecy Robson’s novella The Weird Girls, I knew I was going to like to her series of the same name.

I didn’t know how much I was going to like it, though.

In Sealed With a Curse, we follow leader-of-pack Ceila’s story as she strives to continue to keep her sisters safe. And survive a love triangle after a long drought in that particular area. But it’s so much more than its synopsis. I hardly ever actually LOL at what I read. I was shocked into doing it with this book. And when I wasn’t laughing, I was burning the pages trying to figure what was going to happen next and when the next killer fight scene was coming up. I couldn’t get enough. And you won’t be able to either. Luckily for you, each commenter will be entered in a random selector to win a copy of Sealed with a Curse.

You want it. You really want it.

Celia Wird and her three sisters  are just like other 20-something  girls-with one tiny exception:  they’re products of a backfired  curse that has given each of  them unique powers that make  them, well, weird…

The Wird sisters are content to  avoid the local vampires,  werebeasts, and witches of the  Lake Tahoe region-until one of  them blows up a vampire in self-  defense. Everyone knows  vampires aren’t aggressive, and  killing one is punishable by  death. But soon more bloodlust-  fueled attacks occur, and the  community wonders: are the  vampires of Tahoe cursed with a  plague?

Celia reluctantly agrees to help  Misha, the handsome leader of  an infected vampire family. But  Aric, the head of the werewolf  pack determined to destroy  Misha’s family to  keep the region safe, warns Celia to stay out of the fight. Caught between two hot alphas, Celia  must find a way to please everyone, save everyone, and oh yeah, not lose her  heart to the wrong guy-or die a miserable death.

Because now that the evil behind the plague knows who Celia is, it’s coming for her and her sisters. This Wird girl has never had it so tough.

The novel starts running right out the gate. And it doesn’t give you much time to breathe and catch your breath.

Robson has a way of combining nonstop action and humor that manages not to wear you out. I mean, not only does it not wear you out, but it makes you hunger for more. And in a book about a hunger that destroys families and lives, it’s both ironic and enjoyable.

The plot of Sealed isn’t as straightforward as I thought it was going to be. I kept feeling like we were coming to the root of the problem, but glancing at my reading percentage I saw I wasn’t near the end, so Robson kept me guessing. The guessing didn’t frustrate me, and that’s key. I like to be curious, not plagued by an incessant enigma.

I love each Wird sister for her own reasons, and Robson does a good job of showing her characters as a family, while still maintaining their personalities. I didn’t get the “roll call” effect (where you feel like there are too many character vying for attention and you only remember them due to their name and one specific detail). I remembered the characters as people, like you should. And while I thought the pairing of the sisters with dates so quickly seemed too perfect and too cute, I still liked it. I don’t know if that’s because of Robson’s style, because I thought each hunk was just that: a hunk, or if I was just so caught up in everything else in the book that it didn’t matter. But either way—it didn’t matter. Her characters are fun. And you can find something you like in someone from the crazy-ethereal-not-so-much-a-love-interest Misha to Gem—werewolf, Warrior, boyfriend and all around cool to Celia herself, who it’s hard not to root for, ‘cause she’s just such a bad-ass.

And the cast is diverse. There was so much great representation that I never once questioned the inclusive quality of Robson’s universe. But how could I? The sisters themselves are of mixed race. The girls felt the strain of being the weird ones in more than one way. And Robson deals with that and many other moments deftly. I really like that in an amazing situation like a pregnant werewolf going berserk, Robson somehow makes the moment so human. I was impressed with her great way of tapping into real emotions for supernatural moments. Because they reflect the moments we all have. Brava.

My favorite part? The werewolves in the book are killer. They are killers. No, Warriors. And they’re just so wicked. Huge beasts with the ability to heal so quickly that they do it before your eyes. Pack before anyone. Just…awesome. Have I mentioned I loved them? Oh. I loved them.

And if it’s not clear at this point: I loved the book. It’s just the shot of Urban Fantasy I needed, and if you’re hankering, you should grab a copy. Or comment below for a chance to win one!

*

Check out more about Cecy and her Weird Girls series via the contact info below:

34 thoughts on “Sealed With a Curse Review + Giveaway

  1. George Wendt says:

    If you think you loved the book, wait until you meet Cecy. I had the pleasure of working with her for a few years. You will never find a sweeter, more sincere person. I cheer a little inside every time I read about her success. Yay Cecy!

    1. I haven’t met Cecy, though I’d love to. She is a joy to keep in contact with and she’s been nothing but warm & super friendly. <3 It's great to see her success. You're totally right and totally entered to win.

      1. Awe, George, thank you so much . It was my absolute honor and pleasure to work with you . Thank you for always being so kind to me . You’re a wonderful man and I wish you and your family the best . To Jalisa, you’re an absolute doll . I’m looking forward to meeting you one day .

  2. DaybelisBaez says:

    Oh God! i hope i can win Cecy made the best books ever ,and i know in my country dont gonna sell the books! please! i really want to read it!

Leave a Reply

