Men Lie, Women Lie

 

I’ve ignored Kendrick Lamar for much too long, and due to that: I’ve been remiss in my Music Monday duties. Because Kendrick Lamar is prolific.

I don’t think I say that often? No, definitely not. And he’s definitive in the genre of rap. His mix of styles pays homage to many rappers before him and his album good kid, m. A.A. d city harkens back to 90s rap, especially West Coast styles–which is why it’s no surprise to find Dr. Dre on more than one track.

Either way: “Collect Calls” is a song with more than one message. It’s a reflection of a sect of black culture and community. And Kendrick Lamar wants you to listen. So do I.

Enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Men Lie, Women Lie

Leave a Reply

