Should have said no (#55WordChallenge)

boatSince I’ve been trying to remain active on the internet instead of falling asleep surrounded by papers during my evenings, I’ve attempted more flash-fiction lately. Today I tried on more of Lisa Hollar’s 55 Word Challenge:

  • the 55 Word Challenge is a contest to write a story in 55 words or less.
  • The challenge begins at noon Eastern time every Wednesday and ends at noon Thursday.
  • The story is based on one of three photo prompts and can be written in any genre you choose.

I usually lean toward horror. I don’t know why. But horror flash-fiction is fun. You should try it.

Prompt seen here. Writey stuff there:

“C’mon,” she said. “Wanna show you something.” 

It was late, cold, dark; but I couldn’t say no. 

The decrepit boat was confusing, though.

“What’s special about it?”

She stepped up behind me. Something metal cracked my skull. THWACK “It’s special, ‘cause no one would ever look under it for your body. 

Neat, right?”

THWACK-TH

2 thoughts on “Should have said no (#55WordChallenge)

Leave a Reply

