Sweat and dirt and me

wewriwa_square_4I’m trying to get into the habit of being a weekly participant at Weekend Writing Warrior. This makes three weeks, I think. Chugging along!

Weekend Writing Warrior recap:

  • Sign up on the site.
  • Post 8 sentences of your writing, published or unpublished, to go live after 12:00 noon on Saturday 03/02/13 (should be live at 9AM, however).
  • Then visit other participants on the list and read, critique, and comment on their 8 sentence posts.
  • Spread the word! Twitter hashtag #8sunday.
  • More detailed rules here.

I’m sharing snippets from a wip called The First Nation. Last week we got a closer look at the Nation. This week a bit more!

When I drew my hand in, the glisten of the water was almost impossible to see. I grabbed a light-stick from my belt and slapped it against the wall I was braced against. The whack noise disappeared beneath the scuffle of the other workers growing closer.

I think the drop on my finger dried as I watched it. It wouldn’t surprise me in the warmth of the caves, but it would’ve been nice to taste it. I turned in my harness, my back to the other climbers and swiped my tongue across my finger anyway. It tasted of sweat and dirt and me. 

But no rain.

That’s my 8! Now, get on over to the Weekend Writing Warriors and check out some other great 8s. :)

16 thoughts on “Sweat and dirt and me

  1. historysleuth1 says:

    Are they going to get out? She she trying to get away from those behind her or are they going too? Don’t answer that. :) Looking forward to more next week!

  2. Do we know the speaker is a she? The work requires a harness sounds uncomfortable. And has she never tasted rain? or never tasted water? Your “world building” is fantastic

Leave a Reply

