Alternative Booker Award

imagesAnother award? That’s right. It’s your lucky day. Because Sarah W of Earful of Cider was nice enough to tag me for the Alternative Booker Award, in which one shares her favorite, five books. I have a lot of favorite five books. So, this is as much a duty as it is an honor.

That is to say, these are my top five right now, but at any point in time, they can shuffle. It is on a continual rotation. I could suddenly remember why Annete Curtis Klause’s Blood and Chocolate changed my life, or why Snakes and Earrings was so influential to me as a writer.* But off the top of my head? Here ya go.

  1. The Rice Mother by Rani Manicka. I feel like this is the book that sparked my love for sharing female, minority characters and their stories. It’s one of the richest books I’ve ever read–heavy on history, detail and engagement. I re-read sections all the time just because it’s a joy.
  2. The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera. I like several of Kundera’s books, but this is the one I always go back to. It  explores a certain time frame in Czech life, but more than that it shows how damaged and damaging we can all be to each other, and explores the “lightness” witch which we can handle love.
  3. The Windup Girl by Paulo Bacigalupi. I’m a big fan of stories featuring “less-than-human” characters, because they are almost always more humane than we are. And it just highlights all of our deficiencies. Wind-up Girl was set in a dying city, but even in the
  4. Look for me by Moonlight Mary Hahn Downing. I’ve always been a fan of YA lit, and I still am, but this is the book that solidified that love into full on mania. Add in the fact that it featured the coolest, scariest vampire a teen could ever run into and you’ve got me: hook, line and sinker.
  5. Identity Crisis written by Brad Metlzer, penciled by Rags Morales and inked by Michael Bair. This grapahic novel changed the way that I looked at super heroes. They were flawed, and cruel, and jaded. And hopeful. They were super human in every way. It deepened my respect and admiration and rampant obsession with Batman. It opened my eyes to what comics really are–one of the most beautiful mediums for storytelling.

And now for the second requirement for the award. Tagging five other book lovers. I assume nearly everyone in my little network loves books, so there’s a big pool to choose from. But hopefully I can tag some folks I haven’t heard from lately!

1. S.A. Check

2. Siobhan Muir

3. Holly Kench

4. S.C. Wade

5. A.G. Carpenter

So, there you have it. My five current favorites and five more nominees.

*Yeah, I totally snuck in two more. Bad blogger.

4 thoughts on “Alternative Booker Award

  1. I don’t think I’ve read any of those. (Maybe Identity Crisis back in my days of thinking I was going to write graphic novels.) Will have to add them to my (ever-growing) list of stuff to check out. :)

Leave a Reply

