Ready, Aim, Fire (#SFFSAT)

So, Science Fiction Fantasy Saturday: a mouthful, a blog hop, a hive mind of the most geek-tastic brains out there. Some guidelines, a little welcome:

Welcome to Science Fiction Fantasy Saturday. On the surface, it’s a web ring of authors who post snippets of their work for comment. In reality, it’s a close-knit group of friends and colleagues working together to support and encourage one another and promote the science fiction and fantasy genres.

– JC Cassels, 2012

Restrictions

  1. Absolutely no erotica or explicit content. This ring is for all ages to read. This is the founding reason for this ring, and any diversions will be removed from the final list on Saturday.
  2. Length of snippets:
    • Prose: 4 – 10 sentences.
    • Poetry: 4 – 10 lines.
  3. Any and all comments on the authors’ work are welcome, but please take care to keep them constructive.

I’ve been sharing snippets from a wip called Human: a tale about a detective who meets an android named Adelyn X. And can’t get her out of his head, which leads to trouble, of course.

I have also started sharing Young Gods, a YA wip about its namesake.

*

Today I’m sharing more of HumanLast week Dr. Hart seemingly paralyzed Adelyn the android. Well, Jack has to stop him. Most of y’all guessed what was coming.

He aimed at the man’s right calf, took a deep breath and squeezed the trigger as he exhaled. The resounding crack was lost in the hum of the city, but Jack heard the telltale cry of being pierced by a bullet. He walked to catch up to Geoffrey now, wiping the sweat under his ear with a quick shoulder shrug, more comfortable with keeping both hands on his firearm.

Geoffrey lay clutching his leg, blood pumping between his fingers sluggishly. “What the f[    ]? You f[      ]ing shot me!”

“You f[     ]ing froze my droid.” Jack paused at his phrasing, and then mentally shrugged it off.

“You didn’t have to shoot me.”

“You act like I’m the one in the wrong here, Dr. Hart.”

He  had to shoot the leg. What else could he have shot, not knowing how to help Adelyn? The rest of what Jack has to say about Dr. Hart next week. :)  Until next week: equally fun and speculative snippets to read!

***

23 thoughts on “Ready, Aim, Fire (#SFFSAT)

  1. I KNEW he was going to shoot him in the leg! Well…I’d hoped at any rate. Really well-done, JM! I liked the judicious use of “f” bombs. While I don’t advocate free use of them, they do have their place. This worked for me.

  2. I really like that neat little moment where he wipes his sweat with his shoulder. Such a natural sort of human habit that we all do. Sweating is such an annoying function, afflicting us at the most inconvenient times. Love the F bombs! Guilty of them myself in fiction and in fact! :)

  3. Great snippet. Some great tension, action, AND dialogue all wrapped up into one entertaining snippet. I think this is a defining moment in Jack and Adelyn’s relationship too where he shows what level he’ll go to protect her.

  4. I’m with Patrick. He had it coming.

    PS – Love the snippet, but not the censoring. We still know he’s saying the, um…the, um “F” word after all. I don’t think the #sffsat rules forbid strong language (do they?). People swear. It’s especially natural and understandable in this situation. I would find it less believable if he didn’t swear, under the circumstances.

    I say, cuss away (well, at least in this instance).

    1. Glad you enjoyed, Cary.

      And honestly, I’m with you on the censorship. I wavered a lot making that decision and ended up erring on the dude of caution–I don’t think my blog has an adult content warning and I teach 6th graders. I didn’t want any hootenanny about it. I think I’ll just add the adult content warning, though. And then fulfill all my four letter desires. :D

  5. Wise one, that Jack! And the small details are great! The shrugging to wipe off the sweat, the cry of the doctor being pierced by a bullet (I could imagine that playing out)… Good stuff!

Leave a Reply

