Meager Baskets

wewriwa_square_4I’m trying to get into the habit of being a weekly participant at Weekend Writing Warrior. Chugging along alright, getting some steam!

Weekend Writing Warrior recap:

  • Sign up on the site.
  • Post 8 sentences of your writing, published or unpublished, to go live after 12:00 noon on Saturday 03/02/13 (should be live at 9AM, however).
  • Then visit other participants on the list and read, critique, and comment on their 8 sentence posts.
  • Spread the word! Twitter hashtag #8sunday.
  • More detailed rules here.

I’m sharing snippets from a wip called The First Nation. Last time I checked in with the Weekend Warriors, Raveena (our mc) was pining for something of her own. Her thoughts were interrupted by a co-worker. We start there this week.

I lifted my light-stick to show his face; the smile in his voice had stayed on his face.

“You’ve let the pack catch up. That’s not like you.”

I glanced down behind him and sure enough, the other dozen or so Harvesters in our pick-group were clamoring up the cave’s wide walls, their curses and laughter and breathing filling the emptiness. “I felt bad for you,” I finally said. “It’s a shame on all of your houses to let me out-climb, out-pick and out-scavenge you.” I turned my back on him and started climbing again, talking over my shoulder loud enough for the other climbers to hear: “But since you’ve spat in the face of my good will, I’ll just go on and gather what aborul I had planned on leaving to help out your meager baskets.”

That’s my 8! Now, get on over to the Weekend Writing Warriors and check out some other great 8s. :)

13 thoughts on “Meager Baskets

    1. She’s totally defensive. But I’m glad you love her and that her prickly nature seems realistic. I took every negative emotion I’ve ever had and exorcised it through Raveena. Haha. Poor woman.

  1. It’s a mix of good natured banter nasty attitude. Yes I like her too. At any rate would love to see you over at my A-Z challenge which is one of the reasons I’m not on WWW

  2. ““But since you’ve spat in the face of my good will, I’ll just go on and gather what aborul I had planned on leaving to help out your meager baskets.” I love it. Great descriptions.

  3. In media res, as always, and I want to know more of the story. There are so many layers of conflict here, and (as another commenter pointed out) a realistically prickly protagonist.

Leave a Reply

