Aborul

wewriwa_square_4I’m trying to get into the habit of being a weekly participant at Weekend Writing Warrior. Chugging along alright, getting some steam!

Weekend Writing Warrior recap:

  • Sign up on the site.
  • Post 8 sentences of your writing, published or unpublished, to go live after 12:00 noon on Saturday 03/02/13 (should be live at 9AM, however).
  • Then visit other participants on the list and read, critique, and comment on their 8 sentence posts.
  • Spread the word! Twitter hashtag #8sunday.
  • More detailed rules here.

I’m sharing snippets from a wip called The First Nation–a wip about a young woman who is trying to figure out who she is in a city-state in a mountain. Last time I checked in with the Weekend Warriors, Raveena’s (mc) co-workers had caught up. And one of her close friends poked fun at the fact that for once, they’d caught up with her. She’s fiercely competitive about work. And now we get to know what exactly they’re working on, what they’re mining in The Nation.

Aborul. The thought of it pushed me further, faster. I barely heard Abbas call my name as I slid onto a ledge and unclipped myself from one of the many lines running the cave. I moved to the next channel, guided by lanterns hanging from the low ceiling. This channel was higher up, tighter and less familiar. And therefore, bound to have more aborul. It made my palms itch.

I don’t know if it’s because I’m good at finding it, or if it’s because it’s what my family has always done—my mother told me the black stone runs in my bloodbut whatever the reason, nothing else made me feel like that: frenzied, frustrated, hungry.  

That’s my 8! Now, get on over to the Weekend Writing Warriors and check out some other great 8s. :)

20 thoughts on “Aborul

  1. I didn’t post this week. Meant to leave that comment on the last one. I didn’t want Warriors going to my blog to reciprocate. I never made it around last week, so just visiting this week. :-)

    1. Thanks, Teresa. Uneasiness kind of follows Raveena throughout the story, so glad that came through. I didn’t participate last week, but I did go by your blog. Thanks for coming by. :)

    1. I honestly think it’s a bit of both, which seems rather unhealthy for her. But either way, I’m super glad you love it, because it has been a doubting game the whole way. Pulling teeth. Haha.

  2. I’m still not posting here – between stories – but would never miss reading

    yeah i like the above comment – edginess – made her palms itch – that about says it

Leave a Reply

