Sector 23

wewriwa_square_4I’m trying to get into the habit of being a weekly participant at Weekend Writing Warrior. Chugging along alright, getting some steam!

Weekend Writing Warrior recap:

  • Sign up on the site.
  • Post 8 sentences of your writing, published or unpublished, to go live after 12:00 noon
  • Then visit other participants on the list and read, critique, and comment on their 8 sentence posts.
  • Spread the word! Twitter hashtag #8sunday.
  • More detailed rules here.

I’m sharing snippets from a wip called The First Nation. Last time I checked in with the Weekend Warriors, Raveena (our mc) gave us a look at the second part of her job–reporting. Basically, turning in what you’ve harvested for the day. You must meet quota, though. Or a note goes into your file. More on that today.

*

I shuffled my feet as the line moved forward one more person; dirt scooted along with me, reminding me about the recent Update. I glanced sideways and there it was, flittering across the splintered, grey display boards—ATTN: HARVETERS. PLEASE, AVOID TRACKING DIRT INTO THE REPORTING SITES AND ALL OTHER SITES, CHANNELS AND TRANSPORTATION WAYS, AS IT COMPLICATES ALL ELECTRONICS. NATION FIRST, NATION LAST. THE SANITATION COMMISSION, SECTOR 23.

I rolled my eyes and moved forward one step. I was only one person away now, but the person in front of me was holding up the line. I didn’t know him, and I didn’t care to; I just wanted him to move.

*

That’s my 8! Now, get on over to the Weekend Writing Warriors and check out some other great 8s. :)

20 thoughts on “Sector 23

  1. siobhanmuir says:

    I’ve been in that situation – just get it done already! Nicely written snippet, Jalisa. :) Can’t wait to find out what all this is about at the reporting station.

    1. Lol! Now, that would be very good of her. The Nation loves when those who are not as dedicated are pointed out. But Raveena isn’t that kind of girl. Thanks so much!

  2. I like the caps in this passage, it’s like yelling at her to do different when she doesn’t really have a choice. I can see why she wants the guy in front of her to move.

Leave a Reply

