Back to School, Back to Work, Back to BrainSlush

colorful-brainConsidering how little I post, I sure do spend a lot of time thinking about it. That, and blogly stuff in general.

Yesterday morning my alarm went off at its usual time. 6:28 (and I thought about how I desperately needed to post something, but instead of getting up and perhaps doing that, I went back to sleep). Last year it was 6:29. Because saying I got up at 6:30 in my head just pissed me off. I don’t get it, either. I just went with it. Then, this year, I figured I’d take a minute away each year, to gradually trick help myself into getting up earlier. Because getting up earlier means being more prepared. And more prepared = happy teacher. I can deal with getting up earlier in a responsible/mature way (which pretty much kicks out every way I would have dealt with otherwise–kicking, screaming, cussing). Anyway, I can do it. I believe I can. Gradually.

Except yesterday morning, I didn’t get up at 6:28. Or 6:29. Or 6:30. I did it at 6:51 (still thought about a post–and whether or not I had returned the favor of the comments from the blog hopping over the weekend). Getting up at 6:51 wasn’t too scary. I build a cushion into my time, since I know I’ll just go, “one more minute” every other day. But this cushion is only for middle of the year/plans for weeks teacher. Not first week kinda prepped teacher. And hey, I planned; it just wasn’t very detailed since what we’ll be doing is already scripted.

I paid for that. When I couldn’t find my pants in the predawn darkness. When I forgot deodorant and had to run back into the house. When my stomach demanded we eat (or pay for it later), but I didn’t have time to make anything, let alone stop and get anything. I managed a bagel with strawberry cream cheese. And I dropped a quarter size glob of it down my shirt and onto my pants as I drove. Yes, those same pants I couldn’t find that morning. Those pants…had it out for me.

Still, no biggie. This is not an unusual morning for me. If someone asked me on a scale of 1-10 how graceful I was, how accurate my hand-to-eye coordination was…I’d have to go with a 4. A solid 4. What a solid 4 gets you is clumsiness. Everyday clumsiness. Fall out on the floor on your hands and knees in the bus loop, flat on your ass in the cafeteria (the first from this year, the second from last year).

So, I realized it was going to be one of the days (and that all that thinking about a post would definitely not roll into the actual post itself). And it continued to be—-crying students, forgotten attendance, missing kids, bathroom breaks (and reminding to wash hands) and all.

This morning I got up when my alarm went off. Not one more minute. And today went much better, but I am certainly back to school (the thesis looms large with comments on my proposal awaiting my bravery), back to work and back to some serious brainslush. Brainslush which will inevitably include thoughts of a post that will take days to get into the interwebs.

But hey. I made it today.

4 thoughts on “Back to School, Back to Work, Back to BrainSlush

  1. You made it today! That is a serious victory and I envy you. I never got past the clumsy pants stage . . . and I didn’t even have a bagel for breakfast.

  2. You can do it! You rock – even your clumsiness rocks! Today you managed to get up on time and I, for one, am impressed. The thought of getting up any time before 7.30 horrifies me.

    “This time I’m gonna be stronger! No not givin’ in!” xx

    1. Hahaha. I don’t know if my clumsiness rocks, but I do appreciate all the support. Believe me–I am horrified by the time I get up. But there’s not much to be done about it, besides…blogging. And you get lots of points for referring to the song in the post before this. Big points. If I could like your comment, or favorite it, or whatever, I would. <3 xo

Leave a Reply

