A Force of Will

wewriwa_square_4I’m trying to get into the habit of being a weekly participant at Weekend Writing Warrior. Chugging along alright, getting some steam!

Weekend Writing Warrior recap:

  • Sign up on the site.
  • Post 8 sentences of your writing, published or unpublished, to go live after 12:00 noon
  • Then visit other participants on the list and read, critique, and comment on their 8 sentence posts.
  • Spread the word! Twitter hashtag #8sunday.
  • More detailed rules here.

I’m sharing snippets from a wip called The First Nation.  Last time I checked in with the Weekend Warriors, Raveena (our mc) had just left work and had returned home, to find her quarters–in which she lives with her family–strangely quietly. Turns out something is going on with her father, but she’s not too keen on jumping right in to another mess she has to clean up.

*

I pressed my forehead to the door, took a breath. The smell of sweat in my hair, of dirt on my skin met me. I bumped my head against the door—once, twice, and then I opened the door.

The room was a mess, not extremely uncommon but the extent of the clutter had grown, crawling up the walls and across the floor like fungus. Vomit did spatter the floor, but it looked old. I held onto the doorknob. A towel dark with dried blood was twisted between my mother hands as she sat on the bed beside my father as he lie unconscious. I pushed away from the door by a force of will I didn’t know I had.

*

That’s my 8! Now, get on over to the Weekend Writing Warriors and check out some other great 8s. :)

11 thoughts on “A Force of Will

  1. I remember thinking, “Not just a hangover, then,” when I read this the first time, as numbly as Reveena might have thought it.

    Never doubt your talent, Lisa. :)

  2. burnsmillie says:

    Ooh, definitely makes me want to know what happened. And, your description of the room has me shuddering. Excellent eight!

  3. The knocking of her head against the wall really demonstrates how torn she is whether to open the door. Whatever happened to her father sure sounds serious

Leave a Reply

