There Ain’t No Use in Crying

I was first introduced to Queens of the Stone Age via their video “Go With Flow.” There was something about Josh Homme’s voice that just got me all fan-girly. But I wasn’t a big fan of any other songs. Sure, I played “No One Knows” to death on Guitar Hero (on EASY, mind you), but didn’t we all? I didn’t think it was in the cards for me concerning QOTSA.

Then, Jon played “The Lost Art of Keeping a Secret” and the fan-girl surfaced again to find she liked–I like–a few more songs than I thought. And the new album…Like Clockwork (ellipse included–don’t you just love that?) kept proving a second look was the right choice.

And while I can’t stay away from “I Appear Missing,” there’s another song that I love just as dearly. “I Sat by the Ocean” isn’t just a solid song. It has the tell-tale quirks that make it discernibly QOTSA–Homme’s voice, that particular guitar tone/twang/whine–but the lyrics are stellar. It seems these gentlemen are always telling a story, but this one got me. I don’t quite know way. Perhaps (as usual), I’m rooting for the tortured.

And hey, even if you’re not down for that, it’s still a good song. It’s your Music Monday (and on Monday, too).

Enjoy. :)

 

I sat by the ocean and drank a potion, baby to erase you.
Face down in the Boulevard, yet I couldn’t face you.
There ain’t no use in crying. It doesn’t change anything,
So baby what good does it do?
Your friends, they all sympathize.
Maybe I don’t need them to.

Imagine I’d be your one and only
Instead I’m the lonely one

You, me and a lie.
Silence is closer.
We’re passing ships in the night.

There’s nowhere to run away.
Said, “Boy if you want love, you’ll have to go and find it with someone new.”
“Do you know who you really are? Are you sure it’s really you?”
Lies are a funny thing.
They slip through your fingertips because they never happened to you.
Time wounds all the heals as we fade out of view.

Imagine I’d be your one and only
Instead I’m the lonely one

You, me and a lie.
Silence is closer.
We’re passing ships in the night.

You, me and a lie.
Silence is closer.
We’re passing ships in the night.

Into the night,
Left with nowhere to hide.

Closer and closer.
We’re crashing ships in the night*

 

*some interesting usage of punctuation here. I just copied and pasted from AZLYRICS. I had planned on editing, but then I thought psh–I kinda like it. :)

Leave a Reply

