Cursed by Destiny Review

I’m starting to feel like a broken record when it comes to The Weird Girls series. I find myself repeating much of what I’ve said in past reviews. This review won’t be any different. Fortunately, my tune is sweet. Everything I love about this series is back–the laughs, the page-turning action, the incessant heart-ripping conkle-sucking tension.

And you, dear reader, can enjoy this delightful book for free–just by commenting! One comment gets you entry to a drawing for: one signed copy of CURSED BY DESTINY, a magnet, lip balm, and a bookmark! But keep in mind this only applies to those of you who haven’t won on another blog/drawing!

Chances to win end January 1, 2014. Contest CLOSED. Winner: Heather Jonassen!

CURSED BY DESTINTY Blurb:

cursed_by_destiny_revisedCelia Wird and her three sisters are just like other 20-something girls—with one tiny exception: they’re products of a backfired curse that has given each of them unique powers that make them, well, weird…

Celia’s a girl in trouble. Her heart is bound to Aric, but he is a pureblood were who must deny her or risk condemning his species to extinction. And that’s just her love life. She’s also been called to take down a group of demon terrorists looking to overthrow the paranormal world. (No pressure.)

In order to bring them down, Celia must ally herself to Misha, the master vampire who has made no secret of his desire for her.

And if that weren’t enough misfortune for one girl, a clairvoyant’s prediction could destroy Celia and Aric’s love for good. The only way to protect the world from unbridled supernatural terrorism is for Celia to bind herself to her destined mate. And that doesn’t appear to be Aric…

Yes, you read correctly. Incessant heart-ripping conkle-sucking tension. Whether Celia is trying to stay alive or trying to keep her pants on, you’re stressing. It’s lovely stress, though. The kind of stress that makes you forgo grading. And lunch. And sleep.

All of the parts of this machine are well oiled, but the love triangle becomes front and center for this book. This isn’t shocking as the love triangle is a staple (trope?) of urban fantasy. It comes with all the fun back and forth that all love triangles come with, but Robson has taken that further than my heart can take. Not that this is a knock on the author’s capabilities; her literary skills are all front and center–hilarious banter, believable & lovable characters, relentless action that flows seamlessly into “downtime.” I can honestly say I believe the world Robson molds.

But on a personal level, I’m extremely frustrated with Celia’s refusal to see Misha as worthy of a chance. Sure, he has his drawbacks, but his valiance more than makes up for it. I’m a big believer in loving people for who they are–and there’s a lot to love about Misha. Aric is great. I am a werewolf fan, but just like I dropped Richard when he acted up, I will drop Aric. I wanted to shake Celia until her teeth clattered so many times. But, irritatingly, I also sympathized/empathized. As clever and analytical and humorous and hot as Misha is, Aric is her mate. There is no escaping that (all the more reason why Aric should be in the doghouse–see what I did there?). But that very personal hang up is the only thing I can gripe about. And by gripe I mean I’ll be waiting until I can get more. Especially now that there’s another player in the game. The sweet, sweet agony. And you’ll be the same once you read this. Check it out.

And don’t forget: commenting gets you entered for the drawing for great Cursed by Destiny swag!

AUTHOR BIO:

IMG_2345_(3)Cecy (pronounced Sessy) Robson is a full-time writer, registered nurse, wife, and mother living in the Great Northwest. A member of Romance Writers of America, she attributes her passion for storytelling to the rough New Jersey neighborhood she was raised in. As a child, she was rarely allowed to leave the safety of her house and passed her time fantasizing about flying, fairies, and things that go bump in the night. Gifted and cursed with an overactive imagination, she began writing in May 2009. Her Weird Girls Urban Fantasy Romance series is published with Penguin Random House’s Signet Eclipse and released to stellar praise from multiple reviewers including: Publisher’s Weekly, USA Today, and Romantic Times. THE WEIRD GIRLS: A Novella, SEALED WITH A CURSE, and A CURSED EMBRACE are now available. A CURSED MOON: A Novella, releases December 3, 2013, followed by CURSED BY DESTINY, January 7, 2014.

LINKS:

Website:          www.cecyrobson.com

Twitter:           https://twitter.com/cecyrobson

Facebook:        http://www.facebook.com/Cecy.Robson.Author

15 thoughts on “Cursed by Destiny Review

  1. Hey, Jalisa, I’m glad you enjoyed it. My goal when I created Misha was to make him a lovable scoundrel. Looks like I succeeded in your eyes. ;) Thank you so much for being part of my tour and for your lovely review. “Incessant heart-ripping conkle-sucking tension”? That is indeed a first and a tremendous compliment. Thank you, again!

    1. Heather Jonassen says:

      Come on January!! (Not that I’m wishing my Holiday break away). I’m just ready for a great book to read before the madness of Spring Semester starts at the college I work for. :)

  2. van p says:

    Ekk love triangle front and center?! I still need to read the last book, but I do like both Aric and Misha. Must hurry and read it before January rolls around! Grest review, and thank you for the giveaway!

  3. Jennifer P says:

    Ah, the more I read the more I want!!! I pick up little clues from each successive review, and it just makes me sad that it’s still not Jan 7th yet!

  4. I absolutely love this series and have eagerly awaited this release. Great review, makes me even more anxious to read. I don’t mind the live triangle but I’ve yet to decide who I want her to end up with, if either.
    Thanks for the giveaway.

Leave a Reply

