Easter #facebookrants

20140422-193400.jpg

I spend a significant amount of time on Facebook–I know, I know. That’s regrettable, but…

It’s where I waste time. Whee I blow off steam. Where I peek into the lives of people I’ve known throughout my life.

On some rare occasions, I even connect with these people–and it makes me feel like we’re all in this crazy mess together, which is why I return.

But sometimes–things pop up that make me feel completely the opposite of connected.

Disjointed. Jumbled. Lonesome.

And one of those things was something circulating on Instagram, which popped up on Facebook, of course.

It was an image that examined the origin on Easter as being related to the goddess Ishtar–a symbol of fertility and sex. I googled this image and the first link was one that claims that isn’t true. Without doing an amount of research I’m not willing to do, I can’t say that either claim is credible. 

But that’s hardly the point.

Let’s skip past the fact that this is an image from Instagram/Facebook, one that contains information that has not been verified by anyone, an image that anyone at all could create.

Let’s skip right to the problem I have with the message/implication of this image:

1. It’s as if to say that the celebration of Ishtar is less valuable than that of Jesus’ resurrection.

I understand the knee-jerk reaction to that is: IT IS.

But if you’re me, or like me, you don’t value anyone’s belief more than any other (including your own). And you agree that we should not degrade, denounce or criticize anyone else’s belief–as long as that belief doesn’t mean hurting anyone else.

2. It’s as if to say the two (Ishtar/Jesus’ resurrection) should not be related.

But sex, fertility and renewal (read: resurrection) have been linked together for a long time and for good reason!

And anyone can drum up some quick facts to make a point, like in this article about research that shows the Greek god Dionysus sharing similarities with Jesus.

No one wants to have a/the conversation that we (people/Americans) desperately need to have–and there are so, so many we need to have.

Either way, my message is this:

Knowledge is dangerous in the hands of the close minded, because when you give conviction to idiots, there’s no way to fix their misconceptions. And then they spread their hate with the guise of love and understanding, resulting in a highly contagious and poisonous strain of ignorance.

What we really need is to be good to each other, to respect our differences and to honor the right we all should have to celebrate them as we see fit.

I would hope we could all agree to this.

Leave a Reply

