I only had to imagine myself

wewriwa_square_4It’s been a long time since I’ve been a participant at Weekend Writing Warrior. I could give all of the excuses (er….reasons), but instead I think I’ll just say I’m happy to have made it back. And also that I’m NaNoing to get this sucker done.

I’m hovering around 31, 000. Let’s see where I end up by the close of tonight.

So, cap off to all those other NaNoers out there. We are all in the final stretch. You can do it! And hopefully, so can I!

Weekend Writing Warrior recap:

  • Sign up on the site.
  • Post 8 sentences of your writing, published or unpublished, to go live between 12:00 noon Saturday and 9AM Sunday
  • Then visit other participants on the list and read, critique, and comment on their 8 sentence posts.
  • Spread the word! Twitter hashtag #8sunday.
  • More detailed rules here.

I’m sharing snippets from a wip called The First Nation.  Last time I checked in with the Weekend Warriors, Raveena (our mc) had just left work and had returned home, to find her father sick, though she believed him to be simply drunk, as usual. We’re continuing from where we left off last week, in our introduction to a very important frenemy in Raveena’s life.

*

I wasn’t supposed to be here. I didn’t know who else could possibly have joined me in the secret tunnel. I was sure I didn’t want to know them.

But could I leave knowing he could very well drop to his death or break a leg and starve until he finally died? I only had to imagine myself before my feet carried me back into his direction at a run. I came to a sliding halt as he came into view.

One hand was gripping an outcropping just above the edge, fingers white and shaking; the other had to be working on another way to save himself. The top of his head wasn’t even visible.

*

That’s my 8! Now, get on over to the Weekend Writing Warriors and check out some other great 8s. :)

10 thoughts on “I only had to imagine myself

      1. Thank you! When things are so crazy, I hope my characters still seem like that exercise SOME logic. And hopefully you’ll be there to point out when they don’t! And thank you! I’m oddly enjoying the rush this year! Happy Nano-ing to you! You’ve got this!

    1. And thank goodness! I don’t know what I would do if you didn’t find me. :D And yeah, all in all, I suppose he doesn’t deserve to die of infection and starvation. He’s not a nice guy, but nor is he quite THAT evil.

  1. I liked this story a lot when you were sharing it with us before and today’s snippet is literally a cliff hanger (couldn’t resist LOL). Great excerpt, can’t wait for whatever happens next!

Leave a Reply

